Crows will eat tulips!

Flash tape helps

Last fall I evaluated the work of the previous gardener and decided to continue to use the half wine barrels on the rain permeable crushed rock. At first I was not thrilled about all the crushed rock, but after living through winter on a bluff in a maritime climate, I decided it was better than walking in rain puddles! The barrel above was planted with 50 tulips, covered with potting mix then planted with 50 Crocus. The crocus put on a good show but when the tulip foliage started showing I noticed a crow on the rim of the barrel, chewing on tulip foliage and the bud! Then I discovered flash tape. Thankfully. It scares the crows from landing and really does flash on sunny days. I now have flash tape hanging in other areas of the garden.

