Greenhouse harvest time!

We have been eating lots of salads for a month now and the broccoli in the greenhouse is ready to cut. This is my first year trying to grow food in a little greenhouse and I am happy with the results so far. I have been writing lots of notes to self on what worked and what does not work. For example, at this high latitude (near Seattle) there is not enough light until Feb. 15 to germinate and grow much. So I will time indoor starts to be ready for transplant then. Radishes did not do well for me. Probably because I did not water a lot. I had fungus gnats for a while and I know that to get rid of them it is best to keep the growing mix on the drier side. I also hung fly tape to catch the gnats. Recently, it has been getting warm in there, 85 on sunny days, so I am happy that the cool season things are ready to harvest before it gets way too hot.

I plant veggies really close together in this 4′ x 8′ raised bed with planting mix (not garden soil).

Broccoli harvest – tender and sweet

