Crows vs. cherries

Earlier this season crows were bothering my tulips and now they have discovered the cherry trees! Aggh! I am trying two things to protect the luscious but unripe cherries from the damage by crows. They actually take one bite then drop the cherry! Bird netting was left in the shed by the previous gardener, for good reason, now I understand why. Installing it is not as easy as a person would hope. I decided to wrap up the smaller tree first to see how that goes. It took a ladder and a boat paddle and some clip clothes pins to do the job. Friends here told me to be sure and cover the underside of the tree because birds go from the grass up to the branches, not only top down. Is there an easier way? For the larger tree I decided to hang flash tape and hope it scares them off to another landing spot.

20120609-163918.jpg

20120609-163946.jpg

