The best carrots ever!

Have you seen the glossy photos showing non-traditional colored carrots? They look cool. But reviews I have read say they are not as sweet as the traditional orange carrots and that after you peel some of them, they are not the same color on the inside. If you have any experience with them, please add comments below.

I have always grown carrots in rows but it seems that the germination is not uniform in the my rows, so this year I am going to choose a space and broadcast seeds. It is important to not grow carrots, or any veggie plant in exactly the same place in the garden every year. Rotating the location keeps pests away and and will keep you from depleting nutrients in your garden. But I am getting ahead of myself here.

Before planting I will add 2 to 4 inches of organic matter such as bagged Cedar Grove compost that we can purchase here from Seattle. I will till this in after the last hard frost when the soil is at least 55* My soil in Western WA will need a light tilling because it gets very compacted due to all the rain we get during winter. Do not be tempted to over apply high nitrogen fertilizer or rich animal manure. This causes hairy, forked roots!

I am going to broadcast the seeds rather than plant in rows this year and cover with 1/8″ to 3/8″ soil. Then water and cover with a Remay fabric to keep the insects away.

Six weeks after planting, top dress with more compost. This is important to keep the carrots from getting the green shoulders at the point where the carrot top meets the orange carrot. Harvest when the carrot root diameter is 3/4 “.

Garlic and carrots.

Garlic and carrots.


I hope to get many, many carrots like the ones I harvested in 2012. The plan is to direct seed more carrots every three weeks to have a continuous supply. Never enough carrots in my garden.

