Mums from the beginning

I really enjoyed my mums last fall and I was told to take cuttings this month to have more of the same mums next fall. Apparently the plants from last fall will not produce very well unless cuttings are rooted and new plants started.
20130311-220425.jpg

There are several ways to get the cuttings to root. I chose Hormex rooting hormone and perilite.

20130311-220443.jpg

After 3-4 weeks the rooted cuttings go into 4 inch pots with potting mix. The after 4 more weeks I will look for roots coming out of the bottom so I know it is time to go to a larger pot. This potting up continues until July 4th when they should be in a final pot for growing and flowering.

20130311-220455.jpg

Click on the mums or Chrysanthemums in my word cloud to the right to see the mums blooming last fall.

