Superfood Kale!

Do you have burning questions about this superfood? I enjoy growing and cooking kale so this post will share some resources you may not have found on kale.

Kale saladis a staple at our house. It took a while for my husband to like kale and even now I mix a mild buttercrunch lettuce with kale when I make salad for him.

Massaged kale is an interesting technique that I have seen demonstrated then tasted the salad. Literally massaging the kale takes some of the toughness out of mature kale leaves. The big problem with this was the demonstrator’s hands turned green! Be forewarned and wear gloves to do this.

EatingWell Magazine is my main “go to source” for kale recipe ideas. I have tried their soups and have been very pleased.

Real Simple is my other favorite website for recipes. I love the magazine but I am not brave enough to to add kale to my smoothies.
To me smoothies are strawberries, peaches and yogurt, not green!

This photo shows my kale growing with swiss chard and broccoli. I took off the Remay fabric insect barrier to show the plants clearly.

20130403-202948.jpg

2 thoughts on “Superfood Kale!

  1. My daughter has converted us to kale crisps which she makes by baking the leaves with oil – very tasty although perhaps not as good for you as straight from the garden.

Comments are closed.