First rose bloom of the season

The rose season begins! I am surprised that my first rose bloom of the season is not an Old Garden Rose, but the Floribunda ‘Playboy’ on a tree rose in a large pot. I did not prune the tree roses very much and perhaps this bud winter overed. This same plant has two additional roses showing color in bud form. Notice that ‘Playboy’ does not have the typical summer sunshine color yellow-orange you might see in a photo in a book. The Pacific Northwest has not started the warm dry part of the year yet, so this rose responds with a lighter color.

20130426-160904.jpg

4 thoughts on “First rose bloom of the season

  1. Pingback: First rose bloom of the season | Garden Roses |...

  2. Pingback: First rose bloom of the season | Natural Soil N...

  3. Jealous, jealous, jealous, jealous… my radishes are just starting to act like radishes. It will be a long time before my roses start getting their sass on!

Comments are closed.