Wildflowers in the mountains

The Transplanted Gardener just returned from four days of hiking and photographing wildflowers of Western Washington at Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. The weather was dry and the bugs were hungry! I love the mountains, I am so glad we moved here, just a few hours drive from Rainier. A dear friend watered the gardens during my absence, during this continued drought and everything looks fine. I don’t like to travel very far during the growing season, especially this year. The mountains were warmer than I expected, but we all had layers of clothing. Today I will share a day one report.
Here are some of the wildflowers that were blooming in the meadows of Mt. Rainier on August 5, 2013.

20130808-154334.jpg
The meadows look just like a postcard photo.

20130808-154429.jpg
Magenta Paintbrush (red), Broadleaf Lupine (blue), Sitka Valarian (white).
/>20130808-154530.jpg
Not sure of the ID on this one. It was in a very moist area. Do you know it?

One thought on “Wildflowers in the mountains

Comments are closed.